Common Law Admission Test (CLAT 2017)



  • Candidates should have passed Higher Secondary School/Intermediate Examination (10+2) or its equivalent examination with not less than 50% marks in aggregate (45% in case of SC/ST/OBC and persons with Disability).
  • Should not be more than 20 years (in case of General/OBC candidates and 22 years in case of SC/ST and persons with Disability)
  • Candidates appearing in the qualifying examination can also appear provisionally. However, they shall have to produce proof of having passed the qualifying examination before or at the time of admission with detailed mark sheet.
  • Candidate with compartment/supplementary in any subject in the qualifying examination will not be eligible for admission.

CLAT Pattern

  • Total Marks: 200
  • Number of Questions : 200
  • Duration: 2 hours
Sections Marks
  English (Including Comprehension) 40 marks
  Elementary Mathematics 20 marks
  General Knowledge / Current Affairs 50 marks
  Logical Reasoning 40 marks
  Legal Reasoning 50 marks

CLAT 2017 Important Dates

Particulars Date
CLAT availability of application forms from January 2017 to March 2017
Last date of online submission of application form March 2017
CLAT 2017 admit Card April 2017
CLAT 2017 exam Dates May 2017
CLAT result 2017 May 2017
Admission process June to July 2017
Closure of admission 6th July 2017

Download the last year’s question papers.

2015         2014

This entrance examination is conducted for admission to 14 of the coveted National Law Schools.

Colleges under CLAT

  • National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU)
  • National Academy of Legal Study & Research (NALSAR) University of Law, Hyderabad
  • National Law Institute University, Bhopal (NLIU)
  • The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WBNUJS)
  • National Law University, Jodhpur (NLUJ)
  • Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur (HNLU)
  • Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar (GNLU)
  • Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow (RMLNLU)
  • Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala (RGNUL)
  • Chanakya National Law University, Patna (CNLU)
  • National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi (NUALS)
  • National Law University Odisha, Cuttack (NLUO)
  • National University of Study & Research in Law, Ranchi (NUSRL)
  • National Law University & Judicial Academy, Assam, Guwahati (NLUJAA)
  • Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University, Visakhapatnam (DSNLU)
  • The TamilNadu National Law School, Tiruchirappalli (TNNLS)